Exempt from Licensure FQHCs Reporting a Change of Location or Ownership
June 3, 2020
The following are the requirements and procedures for reporting a change of location or ownership for exempt from licensure clinics that have been approved as a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) pursuant to the Welfare and Institution (W&I) Code, Sections 14043.15(d) and 14043.26.
Pursuant to California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 22, Sections 51000.30(a) and 51000.30(b) providers are required to report a change of location and 50 percent or more change in ownership, by submitting a complete application package. These changes must be reported within 35 days, as required by CCR, Title 22, Section 51000.40(a). Exempt from licensure clinics that have been approved as FQHCs, must report a change of location or change of ownership to the Provider Enrollment Division (PED) by submitting a complete paper application and all required attached documentation:
Exempt from licensure clinics changing their enrollment status to a Rural Health Clinic (RHC) must submit an application for certification to the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), Centralized Applications Branch. For more information, visit the CDPH website.
Exempt from licensure clinics that have changed their enrollment status to a FQHC or RHC cannot use Provider Application and Validation for Enrollment (PAVE) to report a change of location or a change of ownership.
This bulletin does not apply to Tribal Health (PL93-638) providers or intermittent sites operated by a licensed clinic.