FQHC, RHC and IHS-MOA Not Affected by CHDP Code Conversion

September 22, 2017

The following provider types are not affected by the Child Health and Disability Prevention (CHDP) Phase 2 code conversion and claim transition, which was effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2017:

  • Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs)
  • Rural Health Clinics (RHCs)
  • Indian Health Services-Memorandum of Agreement 638 Clinics (IHS-MOAs)

FQHCs, RHCs and IHS-MOAs must continue to submit their cost-based claims for CHDP Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) preventive well-child health assessments according to their current billing instructions, including submitting a copy of the Confidential Screening/Billing Report Information Only (PM 160 Information Only) form as an attachment to a UB-04 claim.

Claims submitted by FQHCs, RHCs and IHS-MOAs with codes announced for the CHDP code conversion will be denied. These providers should watch the Medi-Cal website and monthly bulletins for their own code conversion, which is scheduled for implementation in October 2017.

Providers with questions or concerns may call the Telephone Service Center at 1-800-541-5555 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except holidays.

Email Address for Questions/Concerns
Providers may submit questions or concerns to CHDPTransition@conduent.com.