Welcome to the Department of Health Care Services Welcome to Medi-Cal Welcome to the Department of Health Care Services

Medi-Cal Logo
Click to Sign Up for MCSS emails

TARs No Longer Processed by DHCS for HCBA Waiver Providers in Select Areas

October 23, 2018

Effective October 31, 2018, the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) will no longer process Treatment Authorization Requests (TARs) for Home and Community-Based Alternatives (HCBA) Waiver service providers in areas of the state served by contracted HCBA Waiver Agencies. HCBA Waiver service providers are required to submit TARs for HCBA Waiver participants to the HCBA Waiver Agency contracted to administer the waiver in each designated service area (see table below for service areas).

The HCBA Waiver (formerly the Nursing Facility/Acute Hospital [NF/AH] Waiver) provides care management services to persons at risk for nursing home or institutional placement. The care management services are provided by a multidisciplinary care team comprised of a nurse and social worker. The care management team coordinates waiver and state plan services (for example, medical, behavioral health, In-Home Supportive Services, etc.) and arranges for other available long-term services and supports available in the local community. Care management and waiver services are provided in the participant’s community-based residence.

Most areas of the state are served by contracted HCBA Waiver Agencies as indicated in the table below.

HCBA Waiver providers providing services to participants in areas of the state without a contracted Waiver Agency must continue to submit TARs to DHCS for adjudication.

The following counties are not covered by a contracted HCBA Waiver Agency: Alpine, Imperial, Inyo, Marin, Mendocino, Mono and Napa.

HCBA Waiver Agency service areas are identified by county and include all of the zip codes within the county. Individuals residing in Los Angeles and Orange counties should refer to the links below to identify the Waiver Agency that covers their zip code.

Waiver Agency Service Area
Access TLC Santa Barbara County and sections of Los Angeles and Orange counties
(service area defined by zip codes)
Centers for Elders’ Independence Alameda and Contra Costa counties
Home Health Care Management Butte, Colusa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Modoc, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Yolo and Yuba counties
Institute on Aging Riverside, San Bernardino, San Francisco and San Mateo counties
Libertana Home Health Amador, Calaveras, Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Monterey, San Benito, San Luis Obispo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Stanislaus, Tulare, Tuolumne and sections of Los Angeles and Orange counties
(service area defined by zip codes)
Partners in Care Sections of Los Angeles County
(service area defined by zip codes)
San Ysidro Health San Diego County
Sonoma County Human Services Department Sonoma County
Ventura County Area Agency on Aging Ventura County