Welcome to the Department of Health Care Services Welcome to Medi-Cal Welcome to the Department of Health Care Services

Medi-Cal Logo
Click to Sign Up for MCSS emails

Medi-Cal Services Rendered to Medicaid Eligible Natural Disaster Evacuees

October 9, 2017

Due to recent natural disasters across the United States, Medi-Cal providers may render Medicaid services to eligible natural disaster evacuees in various states and Medicaid programs, subject to certain requirements. Reimbursement for rendering Medicaid services takes place through the applicable state and Medicaid program. Information regarding these states and programs follows.

Texas Medicaid
Medi-Cal providers interested in providing Medicaid services to Texas Medicaid clients may verify Texas Medicaid client eligibility and information as follows:

  • Non-Texas providers may contact Yvonne Olivo, Provider Relations Manager, at (512) 506-6541. To become a Texas provider, providers may complete the expedited Texas Medicaid Temporary Enrollment Application on the Providers Topics page of the Texas Medicaid & Healthcare Partnership (TMHP) website.
  • Texas Medicaid providers may contact the TMHP Contact Center at 1-800-925-9126 and select Option 1.

Medi-Cal providers may access the Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual on the Providers Texas Medicaid page of the TMHP website. Note that Volume 1, Section 6, “Claims Filing” contains claims filing and submission guidelines and that provider handbooks begin with Volume 2.

Florida Medicaid
Medi-Cal providers interested in providing Medicaid services to Florida Medicaid recipients may use the following resources:

  • Providers may enroll to render services to Florida Medicaid recipients on the Florida Medicaid Web Portal of the Agency for Health Care Administration website.
  • For information and assistance with enrollment and claims questions, Medi-Cal providers may send an email to FL-emergent-enroll@hpe.com. DXC Technology (DXC) serves as Florida’s fiscal agent, and a DXC field representative will contact the email requestor to provide assistance and answer questions.

Louisiana Medicaid
Medi-Cal providers interested in providing Medicaid services to Louisiana Medicaid recipients may use the following resources:

Other Contacts, Regions and Medicaid Programs
Medi-Cal providers interested in rendering services to natural disaster evacuees may also use the following list of references and program contacts:

State Contact Telephone Email
Alabama Anita G. Brown (334) 242-5346 Anita.Brown@medicaid.alabama.gov
Alabama DeeAnn White (334) 242-5347 Deeann.White@adph.state.al.us
Florida

Shawn McCauley Intake:
(850) 412-3429
User Admin:
(850) 412-3428
Shawn.Mccauley@ahca.myflorida.com
Florida Tamara Strayer (850) 412-3429 Tamara.Strayer@ahca.myflorida.com
Georgia Nichole Thompson (404) 651-5191 Nthompson1@dch.ga.gov
Louisiana Lois Harpole (225) 219-4284 Lois.Harpole@la.gov
Puerto Rico María del C. Rosario (787) 474-3300,
ext. 3110
MRosario@asespr.org
South Carolina Felicia Burkett (803) 898-2561 Burkett@scdhhs.gov
Texas Walter Sotillo (512) 206-5083 Walter.Sotillo@hhsc.state.texas.gov
U.S. Virgin Islands Renée Joseph Rhymer (340) 774-0930,
ext. 4398
Renee.JosephRhymer@dhs.vi.gov